Absolute Beginner working with EL1040 | LabJack

Absolute Beginner working with EL1040

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Künstlerin
Künstlerin's picture
Absolute Beginner working with EL1040

Hello,

I am working on an art project where I need to read electric signals from plants and use them with a raspberry pi. I am sorry for the maybe stupid questions but I have no knowlege of electronics yet and this is a learning by doing project.

I bought this EI1040 to make the signals stronger. My first question is what kind of cables or plugs do i need to put in the ports?

I was suggested to use these eeg needles (Subdermal) they are coming with the cable you see on the picture. I dont know if I can plug them into the ports of the EI1040. Or what plugs I would need.  

And how do i connect the ports of the EI1040 then to the USB-201 or the MCC 118/MCC 152 to digitalize it for my raspberry pi I mean what cables or plugs do I use?

And is the EI1040 just working with a battery? (I did not open it to look iside if there are batterys)  Or do I need anything to make it run?

I hope someone can help me.

File Attachment: 
LabJack Support
labjack support's picture
The EI1040 requires an

The EI1040 requires an external supply connected between + 5V In and GND In. You should be able to use the 5V pin and GND from the Pi for power if you do not have another power supply in mind.

For the connections, you ideally want wire (flying) leads for your probes. I am not sure how well the probes will work; I think if you can find a different sensor made for your desired purpose that would be preferable to trying to directly measure the potential between two leads. What are you trying to measure, and what is the end goal for the data?